Ripple Labs Awarded “Technology Pioneer” by World Economic Forum

Screen Shot 2015-08-05 at 12.44.50 AM

Ripple Labs has selected by the World Economic Forum as one of its “Technology Pioneers” for its innovative distributed ledger technology.

The Technology Pioneer award recognizes companies around the globe for their ability to innovate groundbreaking technology and develop solutions with the potential to transform the future of business and society. Previous winners have included Airbnb, Dropbox, GitHub, Google, Nest Labs, Mozilla and Twitter.

For this year, 49 technology companies were selected, with Ripple being the only company from the cryptocurrency sector.

Technology Pioneers gain access to the most influential and sought-after business and political network in the world, and are invited to attend the Annual Meeting of the World Economic Forum to be held in Davos, Switzerland from January 20-23, 2016.

Ripple Labs co-founder and CEO Chris Larsen commented:

We are thrilled to be selected among the world’s most innovative companies in technology and to participate in such a well-established community of technology leaders. Our mission is to modernize payments infrastructure so money can move as easily, freely and transparently as information moves on the Internet today. We’re pleased to know that many of the world’s economic leaders share a desire to fulfill this vision.

Fulvia Montresor, Head of Technology Pioneers at the World Economic Forum, added:

We’re glad to see a distributed ledger company make it to the selection. Ripple Labs is part of a group of entrepreneurs who are more aware of the crucial challenges of the world around them, and who are determined to do their part to solve those challenges with their company.

The award will be officially given at the ninth Annual Meeting of the New Champions in Dalian, China on September 9-11, 2015. The Technology Pioneers were selected from among hundreds of applicants by a selection committee of 68 academics, entrepreneurs, venture capitalists and corporate executives. Notable members of the committee include Arianna Huffington (founder, Huffington Post) and Henry Blodget (editor-in-chief, Business Insider). The committee based its decisions on criteria including innovation, potential impact, working prototype, viability and leadership.

Journalist, policy analyst, and evangelist of new, disruptive technologies including big data analytics, Internet of Things, and cryptocurrencies. Internet industry veteran with regional c-suite experience, and journalist credentials earned at, Internet World magazine, and Mecklermedia Corporation.
Free AllCoinsNews Email Updates
Get the latest cryptotoken market news and blockchain developments!
We respect your privacy.